I was in a wreck, but I’m OK {On Life’s Timing}.

13567170_221831944876996_2799264401960028284_n

Some jerk rammed into my RAV4, Glinda.

Not once, but twice. Then he drove away.

Thankfully, the passengers of the car I subsequently hit, and I, were not harmed. Glinda’s a bit banged up, and their car isn’t too shabby. We were able to safely walk away.

Earlier today, my friend Brittany reminded me:

Yet God has made everything beautiful for its own time. He has planted eternity in the human heart, but even so, people cannot see the whole scope of God’s work from beginning to end. -Ecclesiastes 3:11, NLT

The following verses say:

  • “So I concluded there is nothing better than to be happy and enjoy ourselves as long as we can.
  • And people should eat and drink and enjoy the fruits of their labor, for these are gifts from God.”

It’s not always easy to be happy.

A death, job loss, a diagnosis, a betrayal, or a car accident stand in the way for giddiness to enter in.

I don’t always enjoy myself. My impatience is tested the second I hit Dallas traffic, or the moment I encounter a long Starbucks line.

In fact, I can experience the opposite of joy: I become bitter, or broken, angry, or depressed.

But there is a season for everything.

Ecclesiastes 3:1 says, For everything there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven.

Verses 5-7 list such activities:

  • To scatter stones and gather stones
  • To embrace and to turn away
  • To search and quit searching
  • A time to keep and a time to throw away
  • To tear and to mend
  • To be quiet and to speak

It’s my time. It’s my turn.

scatter my plans, and gather new hopes. I embrace new friends, and turn away from old, weary ways that never worked.

I search for answers found in the Truth of the Gospel, and I’ve stopped searching for them on earth.

It’s time to keep track of these wonder-filled days. Sometimes I throw time away: I grab coffee with friends, spend afternoons out on the lake, and sit and breathe for a while…but even the time I throw away is never wasteful.

I tear apart my identity, and mend the seams together, finding it at the foot of the cross.

It’s time to shut my mouth, and stop pretending like I know it all.

It’s time to be quiet and listen to what God’s speaking to me.

And once I’m done listening, it’s time to shout from the mountains the lessons I’ve learned, and things I’ve come to know.

 

Categories: Bearing my Cross, Body., Everything Else, For the Ladies, Friendship, Life Written., Love or Something Like It, Mind., My Adoption, Popular Posts., Post-Grad., Sic'Em Forever., Sojourn., The WordTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

