Dive In {On Going Headfirst into God}

13308149_203122093414648_6733760200629676289_o

Lately, I’ve taken up swimming as a form of exercise.

The other day, I was swimming, but I didn’t want to get my hair wet. I’m not legit, so I don’t have a swim cap. My hair was tied in a ponytail, and I was doggy paddling above the surface.

It simply didn’t cut it.

I tried to float a little, to flip and flop my arms around to save my hair. But it wasn’t the same as plunging under the surface, immersing myself into the cool, refreshing water.

So I went underneath. Then I picked up speed, swam laps, timed myself, and got the full experience.

God wants us to go in headfirst.

He’s an all-or-nothing type of God. He loves us despite our works, despite our efforts, but He wants to us dive into Him.

Doggy paddling will only get us so far. We begin to sink into the darkness and destruction and temptations of this world. We can’t see what’s going on underneath, we don’t know what surrounds us.

Diving in will let us swim farther, see more, feel more. It lets us receive the full experience of immersing ourself into faith, of receiving the fullness of His grace and mercy and peace.

Diving in shows commitment, and God is the most committed, faithful God.

Let’s stop doggy paddling.

It simply won’t cut it. We kid ourselves when we swim with caution, when we try to preserve our wants, needs, bank accounts, jobs, hair.

We are more than flailing around aimlessly in the water. We are able to dive deep into the depths of the ocean, to be washed by His love, to trust beyond borders and to swim by faith.

So what are you waiting for?

Dive in.

Categories: Bearing my Cross, Body., Everything Else, Life Written., spirit, The WordTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

