Know Yourself: On Conviction & Confidence

10647030_788951211127963_5995720551808050147_n

I love to learn about myself.

Not because I’m selfish or interesting, but I continually crave knowledge and learn best informally, individually and by application.

As living placement, employment and people change in my life, I learn more about how I adapt my perspectives and strategies to thrive.

I love to talk about myself.

Not because I’m narcissistic or seek attention, but I’m an external processor.

I internally create ideas or analyze patterns, then externally work through what I’ve gathered via verbal communication.

It’s dangerous to be insecure in yourself.

The people who most frighten me are:

  1. People who don’t know their weaknesses.
  2. People who know their weaknesses and choose not to improve in those areas.

The people who most sadden me are:

  1. People who don’t know their strengths.
  2. People who hyperfocus on their weaknesses, creating a byproduct of doubts in their own capacity to be great and do good.

Andrew Nelson Lytle, a Southern agrarian and author, knew himself.

Lytle found a way to measure his life’s value by asking these questions:

  1. Where do you come from?
  2. What do you do with your land?
  3. Who do you belong to?

Here are my answers:

  1. I was born in China, raised in Dallas (1-17 yrs.) and refined in Waco (18-21.5 yrs.) I reign from the South, where there’s a mentality to love Jesus, work hard and care for others.
  2. I don’t have land or a permanent residence, but I do have hands. I professionally pursue PR endeavors by writing, designing, creating social/online content, strategizing and managing accounts. I personally seek to build relationships and make others feel loved.
  3. I belong to The Lord. I belong because of Jesus. I feel belonging by the Spirit. The Lord loved me long before I was born. Jesus allowed us to have a relationship. The Spirit gives me grace to fail and wander, but reminds me The Lord is my home at the end of each day.

I don’t know your answers.

But man, I’d love to know and discuss them. If you’d like, please comment your own or write on LLG’s Facebook page.

This is a call to action:

Discover yourself and find out where you came from, what you do with your land (or hands) and who you belong to.

It’s okay if self-discovery freaks you out, but please embrace your background, commitments and belonging.

Explore yourself open-mindedly. Own your convictions. Experience grace.

You were created for good things.

Your past does not define you. You define you. So go ahead, define yourself. And run with it.

Categories: Everything Else, Friendship, Life Written., Love Languages, Love or Something Like It, Post-Grad., The Word, To My Mister, UncategorizedTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

