God Grants the Desires of Our Hearts When:

The door is open, so dream big.
The door is open, so dream big.

Firstly, they align with His own.

A favorite verse of all time of mine, Psalm 37:4, says “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will grant you the desires of your heart.”

When I was younger, I thought this meant Jesus was a genie.

If I loved him and his people well, then I would get whatever I wanted: a boyfriend, new car, a braces-free smile, you name it. I was wrong.

Not only does such a mindset promote the prosperity gospel, the idea God will throw material items and worldly success if I’m faithful, but also implies that I must  work to gain rewards from The Generous Father.
Since then, I’ve learned how to truly delight in the Lord by:

Intentionally noticing His presence: reading His word, making time to rest, letting my worries lay in His hands and not deteriorate my human plans.
Understanding His plans were, are and always will be better than my own: He created the earth and I can’t microwave popcorn without burning it–whose plan would you rather follow?
Living with a grateful heart for the good, bad and in between: the Word is right when it says “He gives and takes away.” (Job 1:21)

The more I know God, the more I love Him. The more I love Him, the more I understand His ways. The more I understand His ways, the more I want Him to have His way in me and in my life.
My desires do not always match His, but they do more so now than ever.

My heart is forever deceitful and fickle and infatuated with worldly things and little “g” gods, but the Holy Spirit within me fastens my soul to follow His will.

Secondly, they are complete in His timing.

Several instances in my life, God will plant a seed in my heart for a cause or a crazy, but doable endeavor.

Last fall, I felt God tap me on the shoulder and say, “Dear daughter, you are a gifted writer and have an amazing story. Share your adoption with the world not only through a blog or Red Bus Project, but a book.

This sounds crazy, you don’t know where to begin, but this is why you are where you are, and why I gave you a passion for and knack in storytelling.”

I ran with it.

Purpose and anticipation empowered my brain and fingers to quickly type out chapter ideas and a handful of solid pages. Then school, work, obligations and life happened. And it disippated.

A week ago, God tapped again. “Maelyn, you have an abundance of free time and RBP will teach you even more about adoption. Now is the time. Trust me, pursue this dream and I will make a way for you.”

Now I’m filled with ideas to put on paper, but it demands discipline to carve out time to write and edit. I still don’t know the publishing process, but a God thing happened.

I was complimenting Jonathon, a co-dreamer and storyteller from my study abroad trip , who launched a writing community called Reframe–check it out, it’s amazing.

I praised the ways he chases big dreams, takes little steps and achieves nearly all of his goals.

I told Jon that I was dreaming big lately and excited to see projects through–even if that meant taking a while. “I want to write a book and I don’t know how.”

Turns out, Jon has been chasing a dream to start a publishing company and also has amazing friends who are w onderful, world changing writers who have widespread, well-known books of their own.

Jon is snarky and cynical, but he’s also talented, brilliant and willing to take risks.

He’s now a close friend and someone who can relate to and encourage my lofty thinking, when many laugh at my idea of also becoming a part-time band manager.*

*Jon also has contacts in the music world because he will forever be cooler than me.

God gives us dreams that are bigger than ourselves.

Life would be awfully boring if we only achieved things we knew we were capable of. Where’s the fun in that? Where’s the challenge and sense of accomplishment?

My book will probably not be a NYT Best Seller. Ideally, maybe 100 pairs of eyes will read it.

I mostly want to share it with friends and family, promote it here and on social media, and see what happens.

I’m not trying to make a living off of writing only books, nor am I hoping to become a motivational speaker–but that would be fun for a bit.

The Lord simply said, “You should do this because I created you for it and I love you.”

And so given time, it will happen.

Let’s assess the timeline of our desires.

Questions to consider:

What have you been dreaming of lately? Have you been dreaming at all?**
Where does that goal come from? Yourself? Your gifts? Your passions? God? All of the above?
How will you accomplish it and when? Are you fast and furious, now or never? Or slow, but productive? Efficient, but thorough?

God loves to delight His children. He adores seeing us think big and fantasize miracles we can accomplish by His will, strength and endurance.

He’s thrilled to challenge our expectations, go ahead of our present dreams and pave a way for us to achieve goals that align with His.

Friends, keep dreaming and desiring.

If the Lord plants a desire in your heart matching His, He will surely provide paths to see it through according to His will and timeline.

**If you haven’t been dreaming, start now. Recognize your skills, consider your passions, marry the two and write just one dream down. And pray, pray, PRAY fervently and expectantly to be patient with His plan and persistent in seeing the dream come alive.

Categories: Bearing my Cross, Everything Else, Friendship, Life Written., My Adoption, Post-Grad., Red Bus., Sojourn., The WordTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

