The Truths of Time: On Not Choosing Netflix Over Friends

Taco time
Taco time

I’m not a lazy person.

Not too much, that is. My last semester at Baylor, after refusing to do any more school work, I spent all too many hours binge watching Scandal and rewatching the Friends series–for the second time.

Though I am pro physical activity and living a healthy lifestyle, I was a little proud of letting my usual uptight, busybody self transform into a content couch potato.

It’s the little wins, really.

I won at being lazy this fall. But I lost at being a good friend.

It took me a couple of months until I finally realized:

If I spend this much time on the couch, I am not spending that time doing others things like showering, studying and investing in friendships.

Unfortunately, I realized that with only a month left of the semester. Oops.

Thankfully, my friends rock.

After the epiphany, I kicked it into gear and offered quality time to friends I had not seen all semester long. My last month at Baylor was filled with brunch dates at Lula Janes, afternoons swinging at my favorite spot and abundant mugs of coffee shared with people I love.

It was a bit busy and at times exhausting for the introvert in me, but joyful and life-giving in every way.

Thanks to my actions–and inaction– in the fall, I left the semester, season of life and Baylor University with two lessons:

1. I need to remember the value of time. 

With quality time as love language, I take my time very seriously. I do my best to delegate the best ways to spend my time: at work, at school {not any more}, with people, by myself, in the Bible, at the gym, etc.

This semester, I forgot the tradeoff of spending time doing one thing by default means not doing another thing.

2. I spend my time best when I give it to the people I love.

I can fill my time by working hard to make money or posting staged photos on Instagram to get more followers, but there will be little, authentic, long lasting reward.

I want to spend my minutes months, years, decades on earth with people I love and people who love me in return. There are long lasting, irreplaceable benefits from establishing faithful friendships and investing in others.

Now that I’m out of school, I have more time on my hands.

The time I used to spend on essays, projects and portfolios can be cashed in for different activities. Ideally, I will teach myself how to play ukelele, learn recipes for meals that take more than 10 minutes to cook, and explore new places I live in.

In two weeks, I will move to Nashville for at least a few months to intern with the Red Bus Project. I may stay there or return to Texas, or maybe go somewhere new.

Wherever I go and whatever I do, I choose to remember the value of time and use it wisely.

Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.  –Ephesians 5:16-17, NIV

Categories: College Life, Everything Else, Friendship, Life Written.Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

