I don’t know what I’m doing when I graduate.

God is bigger than this view. The opportunities are endless.
God is bigger than this view. The opportunities are endless.

I don’t know much, but I do know some things.

In my 21+ years of living, I’ve learned:

  1. To always opt for the moderately spicy option at Indian restaurants.
  2. To think before I speak, especially concerning sporting events.
  3. To never regret swinging in a public park, despite the judgmental looks.

But most of the time, none of these things matter.

My professors, peers and parents don’t ask me about my Indian food experiences, how many bets I’ve lost, or when the last time I swung was {the answer: last week}.

Nope. They ask, “What are you going to do after graduation?” “Where are you going to live?” “What options do you have for the future?”

Ha. I don’t know.

December 19 is approaching fast. I am well aware.

Next semester’s location and employer is to be determined. I am also aware of this.

The uncertainties of the future used to freak me out. I’d lie in bed awake remember older friends and family members who had gone before me. Just how did they do it? How did they grow up?

But now, the unanswered questions and fill-in-the-blank plans are covered in peace. I do not know much, but I do know some things.

In my 21+ years of living, I’ve learned:

  1. God steps in when I least expect Him. Whenever I look forward to future plans that I believe are firm, God throws in plot twists. He says, “You think you know what you want, but trust me, I know better. Let’s do this instead.”
  2. God goes before me. While I wade in job applications, interviews and emails, the God of the future looks back at present me and smiles. He says, “You will meet me in this moment months from now, and you’ll realize I care for you enough to pave the way.
  3. God wants me here, God wants me now. Laying out future plans and staying present-minded in Waco concerning friendships and commitments has been quite the balancing act. God calls me to trust in Him, to stay deeply rooted where I am now. But He also wants me empty handed, expectantly waiting for good things to come.

I am by no means lazy or unconcerned of my future. I simply trust that I’ve exerted as much power into contributing to it as I can, and the rest is up to God. He can see farther than I can. He can be where I cannot. And that’s good enough for me.

She can laugh at the days to come. Proverbs 31:25

Categories: Bearing my Cross, Everything Else, Life Written.Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

