Bearing my Cross · College Life · Life Written. · My Adoption · Red Bus. · The Word

A Good, Good Father: On Adoption

adoption

I was got 20 years ago today.

In the adoption world, Gotcha Day celebrates the anniversary of your adoption.

I’ve understood the overwhelming love and acceptance by people who are not my own, who differ from me not only in looks, but also opinions, mentalities and habits.

When I think of my adoption, I remember the Gospel. I remember nature of God the Father:

God pursues His children.

My parents filled out paperwork, waited for answers, budgeted finances, prayed on their knees, waited for more answers, received a photo, filled out more paperwork, booked flights, reserved hotels, and then they were able to bring me home.

Adoption is by no means a quick or easy process, but the reward makes the hours of uncertainty and frustration worth it.

In the same way, God seeks out His children. When they run, when they falter, He does not cease from loving them. He does not stop until the children come home.

God disciplines His children.

When I was little, I usually got in trouble for hitting my brothers, and occasionally for mouthing off. My parents would send me to my room for lesser punishments. For greater, a spanking was an additional penalty.

Adoption gives adoptive parents full parental authority and duties. While the highlight of a parent’s job is to love a child, it is also to ensure the child follows the right paths and upholds certain morals.

In the same way, God corrects His children when they veer off the path. When the first generations on this earth lived indespicably, God wiped the slate clean through flooding the earth. When the Israelites kept turning from Him, they wandered for 40 days.

God blesses His children.

My parents got me a car when I was 16. They allowed me to study abroad in Italy this summer. They’ll keep opening their doors for me until I return the favor with a house and family of my own. And when they are gone, I will receive an inheritance.

Adoption is the greatest gift. A child receives a family. A family receives a child. Beyond that, a child will receive all of the benefits that come with being a part of a family: a house, food, gifts and more.

In the same way, God gives to His children. He creates all good and perfect gifts to bless His children. The children of God inherit His kingdom, they will be welcomed into eternity with joyous singing and melodious music.

God the Father is a good, good father.

He pursues, disciplines and blesses His children. He does not care about skin, hair or eye color. He does not target past sins, lies and deceits.

He loves deeply and with great grace and never ending mercy. He says, “I don’t care who you are. I don’t care where you’ve been. I care that you are mine.”

The Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit himself testifies with our spiritthat we are God’s children. Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory. -Romans 8:15-17

Leave a Reply

