A Sandwich Shop Epiphany: On Asking & Receiving

Screenshot_2015-10-23-11-41-24-1

I had an epiphany in the middle of a Potbelly sandwich shop.

As my friends and I were standing in line, we joked about how funny it would be to take a picture of one of us behind the counter.

We’re weird like that.

My silly friend Kelsey told me to ask one of the employees.

But I chickened out.

Why would I even ask? Of course he would say no. It would be ridiculous and unexpected if he said yes.

But Kelsey was bold, and she asked for permission.

The Potbelly employee shrugged.

“I don’t see why not,” he said.

Moments later, Kelsey appeared behind the counter in a Potbelly apron, soft smiling for the Instagram photo.

All of the customers laughed. It was bizarre and hilarious and fun.

As we laughed, I kicked myself.

I didn’t ask because I was afraid. I didn’t ask because I assumed the answer would be “No, of course not.”

Scripture says if we ask, it will be given to us.

I have a habit of underestimating God, a reflex that expects rejection and stifles requests.

This instinct hinders me from receiving. If I don’t seek, how will I ever find? If I don’t knock, how will the door ever open?

God is generous. He delights in giving good and perfect gifts {James 1:17}.

God is powerful. With Him, everything is possible {Matthew 19:26}.

If God possesses both of these traits, why do I doubt? Why do I question?

God’s generosity and ability to do anything should cause me to spew forth multitudes of outrageous questions.

I should expect Him to say “I don’t see why not,” to ridiculous and bizarre questions.

I think God has a bunch of tricks up His sleeve.

He’s simply sitting and waiting for us to pray big prayers, to ask big questions, to expect big miracles.

He’s ready to delight us. He’s eager to surprise us.

Dear friends, let’s not allow God’s love for giving and capability of doing go to waste. Let’s instead make the most of it, ask the most of Him and gladly receive His blessings.

Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. -Matthew 7:7-8, NIV

Categories: Bearing my Cross, College Life, Friendship, Life Written., Popular Posts., The WordTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

