Bearing my Cross · College Life · Life Written. · Mind. · Post-Grad. · Red Bus. · Sic'Em Forever. · Sojourn. · spirit

Praise Him for the Plot Twists

11953392_10207903100401644_7395743902480586290_o(1)

I thought I knew what I wanted.

I wanted to attend the University of Oklahoma.

I wanted to major in Journalism and create a promising future of disseminating hard news stories.

I wanted to graduate and become a successful reporter.

I wanted all of these things and more.

None of those things happened.

I felt called to attend Baylor University which I have not regretted once.

I switched my major to Journalism, Public Relations and New Media with a PR emphasis even though I didn’t know what it was at the time…and still don’t.

I will graduate and possibly become a professional stay-at-home daughter, living off of my mom’s cooking and my old bedroom.

I am surprisingly happy with all of these things and more.

As it turns out, The Lord knows best.

We say, “God is good. All the time. All the time. God is good.”

But do we believe it when our paths changes last minute?

Do we feel it when our parents divorce? Or a best friend is diagnosed with cancer?

When our grades are slacking, to-do’s are piling up and college is simply overwhelming?

I usually don’t.

But that’s where faith comes in.

Faith says, “It’s funny how God inserts plot twists throughout our lives that radically change the direction we were going.

“It’s even funnier that those plot twists result in even better end products than the dreams, goals and ideals we were originally desiring.

“It’s perhaps the funniest that I have made this realization before, yet I keep forgetting it.”

Good one, God.

You are good.

All the time.

All the time.

You are good.

May I keep seeing your goodness in my life, even when I do not feel it.

May I continue in forward motion toward the faithful future you have in store for me, and may I never look back to the past that is stagnant and unchangeable.

I praise you for the plot twists.

For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:8-9

One thought on “Praise Him for the Plot Twists

Leave a Reply

