Freedom by Faith

11249848_10153457753883245_7121547648417386399_nYesterday we celebrated freedom.

America grants its citizens freedoms that many other countries do not.

I can worship who I want, how I want. I can drive wherever and choose who to marry. I can chew gum in public, read anything I desire and write this post simply because.

It’s a blessing to live freely in America.

But even if I wasn’t free by the law, I’d be free by faith.

Jesus said that if we held to his teaching, we would really be his disciples. He said,

“Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

These words in John 8:32 remind me that I am free every single day, the Truths in the Gospel say so.

Let these Truths set you free:

  1. You are tremendously loved. The Lord sent His only son to die for you. He raised him back to life for you. He gives only good and perfect gifts.
  2. You are not your wrongs. The Lord offers forgiveness. He even forgets. Yesterday’s mistakes are gone, His mercies are new each morning.
  3. You are in good hands. Jesus Christ is the same as yeseterday, today and forever {Hebrews 13:8}. His unfailing love stretches from everlasting to everlasting. The future is bright, because the future is His.
  4. You are known. The Lord knows His children intimiately. He created them with a purpose, He made them for His glory. He doesn’t make mistakes, He makes miracles. You are a miracle.
  5. You can do great things. The word of God works in those who believe {1 Thessalonians 2:13}. The Lord saves us, Jesus Christ died for us, and The Holy Spirit works in and through us each day. If God is on our side, who can be against us? {Romans 8:31}.

Praise God for freedom.

Praise Him for the everyday freedom that our government gives.

But mostly, praise Him for the freedom that exceeds earthly laws and governing bodies. Praise Him for the freedom that only His love, grace and truth can offer.

Categories: Bearing my Cross, Everything Else, Life Written.Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

