Silence Over Speaking: On Waiting on The Lord

IMG_0632

Sometimes I just want to sit and talk to God.

I desire to audibly hear His voice.

I long to have a heart-to-heart conversation. I’m struggling. I need to know He’s there. I’m wanting. I need Him to say, “I am enough.”

I’m learning that silence speaks louder than words.

I’m finding out that placing my hope in The Lord involves less chit chat and more sitting and waiting.

Patiently.

Quietly.

Contently.

My instinct when praying is to blab on and on, to list my worries and pleas, to cry out and beg for a spoken answer.

It turns out that words are simply not needed on either end.

The Lord knows my heart.

He understands my burdens and pains. He realizes my weaknesses and doubts.

I know The Lord is there.

He jumps for joy with me when I celebrate. He sits with me when I weep.

Perhaps hoping and waiting on The Lord is less of an exchange of words of affirmation, and more of a meeting for quality time.

The Lord can scream through thunder claps or whisper in the sunrise, if He so chooses.

But if He doesn’t, if His silence is all I hear, I can be glad in His presence.

I can sit. And wait. And hope. And know that His company is all I need.

In the thick of the storm and the calm afterwards, in the blue skies and sunrises of my life, I can find joy in knowing that I am never alone.

I wait in trust.

I wait in peace.

I wait in hope.

My hope is built on the belief that My Savior hears my weary cries, knows the depths of my heart and strongly stands by my side. My hope comes from The Lord, the Comforter of my Soul.

He’s the One who makes the wind shriek.

He’s the One who causes the earth to rumble.

He’s the One who sits with me. Silently. Faithfully. Always.

The Lord is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him. It is good that one should wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord. Lamentations 3:25-26

Categories: Bearing my Cross, Everything Else, Life Written., Love Languages, The WordTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

