Bearing my Cross · Life Written. · Love Languages · Sojourn. · The Word

Mercies in the Morning

IMG_3640

I woke up at 4:30 a.m. today.

My friends and I decided to trek up to Piazzale Michelangelo, a 25-minute, uphill battle, to watch the sun rise over Florence on our last day here.

The early morning wakeup was well worth it.

The sky gradually transformed before our eyes from a dark blue to a mellow orange, and finally a pale yellow. The sun peeked up over the rolling hills of Tuscany as a morning breeze cooled us off.

It was a breathtaking start to a beautiful, new morning.

Florence’s sunrise reminded me of The Lord’s amazing promise to send His mercies anew every morning.

I’m undeserving of that kind of mercy.

I’ve been distant and complacent and uninvested.

I’ve wandered long and far, only to come back home after realizing how utterly useless I am without Him.

Though I’ve walked away, lied and cheated, though I’ve proven to be dishonest and unloyal, His compassion for me never fails.

His mercy is seen in the rising sun, found in every new day.

The Lord says,

Dear daughter, my love for you is unconditional. You cannot fight it. You cannot find a place on this earth where my love does not reach.

The sins and wrongs of yesterday were buried in the night.

This morning light is for you, let the rays greet you as my mercy washes over you completely.

I release you from the burdens and pains of wandering, brokenness and bitterness. I give you freedom from anxiety and fears and doubts.

I welcome you this morning. You are my daughter, you are my beloved. You are forgiven. You are made new.

Now bask in the sunrise, walk in the light and embrace the newness of today.”

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;  his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” Lamentations 3:22-24

Leave a Reply

