Bearing my Cross · College Life · Life Written. · Sic'Em Forever.

Lost in Italy: On Following in Faith

11009873_10206967802659608_4492799702142410524_nI’m in Italy.

My group arrived in Rome this past Thursday. We were only in Rome for about three days, but we made the most of it.

Veni, vidi, vici. We came, we saw, we conquered.

We also got lost. A lot.

There are tiny alleys and winding, cobblestone roads, squares and traffic circles, busy metro trains and crowded, smelly buses.

And don’t forget, everything is in Italian. “Learning” four semesters of the langauge in Waco did not prepare me for the rapid babbling or confusing signage.

Lately, our group has introduced a new theme:

We’ll figure it out.

It’s the seventh time we’ve past this store? We’ll figure it out.

There are three keys to our apartment? We’ll figure it out.

Our shower has five dials? We’ll figure it out.

Every day presents a plethora of little challenges. Most of the time, it takes trial and error–more than once–to figure it out.

We brace ourselves for a little bit of failure. We’re armed with humility and patience.

In many ways, our approach to conquering Italy is the approach God wants us to tackle life.

We’ll figure it out.

Instead of dissecting every single step from Point A to Point B, we just go and do. We move.

We don’t question and we don’t doubt.

We know we very well may fail.

But we trust and we place one step in front of the other.

Often times, I’m stuck at Point A asking God what’s next, hesitant with fear and uncertainty that I’ll make it to Point B.

However, The Lord just calls me to action.

He desires for me to walk in confidence knowing that one day, I’ll figure it out, and I will arrive at Point B, wherever that is.

Before I arrive at my destination, I may have to turn around at some dead ends or walk in a few circles. I may mumble some unfriendly words and consider giving up a few times.

But a little bit of faith can go a long way, and so can my feet.

We don’t need to know where we are going or how we will get there. Instead, we are called to trust in the Lord and follow in steadfast faith wherever He leads.

Leave a Reply

