When Faith Meets Finals: On Depending on God

photoThese last days leading up to finals are rough.

We students have been working hard all semester, all year long.

We can taste the summer sun on our tongues, but we must first conquer papers, presentations and exams before those three months of bliss.

We run and run and go and go and don’t stop until our heads hit the pillow at night–or in the wee hours of the morning.

We are exhausted.

But Jesus isn’t. He says,

Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.

I am stubborn. When people offer to help, I tend to refuse because I am determined to do things myself.

In my head, I’m independent and strong. I don’t need anyone else.

In reality, I carry a heavy load. Literally. Books can quickly add up to 10 lbs. on my back each day.

I need to accept that I am not superwoman. I can’t carry the physical or metaphorical weight on my back alone.

I need Jesus.

He offers to ease my exhaustion. He says, “My yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”

He says that even when I am weak, he will give me divine strength.

If I allow him to, he promises to comfort and care for me. I am wired to need him, I shouldn’t fight it.

He can maximize my time. He can increase my energy. He can bring rest to my weary soul.

In the Bible, King David says,

The Lord is my shepherd; I have all that I need. He lets me rest in green meadows; he leads me beside peaceful streams. He renews my strength.

If the man who bought down Goliath needed The Lord’s peace and strength, then surely I do too.

When I am weary, I will rest in The Lord.

When I am weak, I will lean on The Lord.

When I am able, I will walk with The Lord.

Categories: Bearing my Cross, College Life, Life Written., Sic'Em Forever.Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

