The Wild Part 3: God is the river.

IMG_0291I got back from Escalante three weeks ago.

Waco is pleasant. But Waco isn’t Escalante.

The first week back looked a lot like the lion’s den: three tests and one essay, two events and two meetings.

My paradise was 1,000 miles away. Reality hit.

Sometimes, we have to search a bit harder to find God.

During our trip, we students joked about the guides leaving us stranded in the wild. We brainstormed how we would find our way back without them.

The trick to getting back was going down in the valley, locating the Escalante River and following it upstream. The river would lead to civilization. The river would take us home.

Sometimes–not always–when I don’t feel God, I don’t think I’m trying hard enough.

I’m not on the mountain and the view isn’t expansive.

Sometimes it’s a challenge to see His face and beauty.

God calls me to retreat to the valley.

I hack through knee-high brush and storm through thorny bushes.

I climb over large boulders and traverse through prickly cacti.

I spot the river running with peace and life and promise.

But when I come to the river, I know that I will make it home.

God is the river. God brings us home.

The Lord is the river hidden deep in the valley.

He is full of peace and life.

He is the hope of tomorrows and the promise of all things good.

He is found in the mountaintop views.

He is deep in the valleys.

The strong mountains scream His glory. The dark valleys cry out His praise. The living rivers sing His promise.

Find the river. Follow it. And be welcomed home.

Let the heavens rejoice, let the earth be glad; let the fields be jubilant, and everything in them. Then all the trees of the forest will sing for joy; they will seng before the LORD, for he comes. Psalm 96: 11-13a, NIV

Categories: Bearing my Cross, Everything Else, Life Written., Love Languages, Sojourn.Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

