For the Ladies · Life Written. · Pop Culture

DirecTV Doesn’t Make You Beautiful.

Beauty is trying and failing at flying a kite with the people you share laughs, hopes, dreams, let-downs, trials, and faith with.
Beauty is trying and failing at flying a kite with the people you share laughs, hopes, dreams, let-downs, trials, and faith with.

Sports Illustrated Models’ Lives are Being Changed.

According to Yahoo Health, SI swimsuit models are featured in DirecTV’s newest advertising campaign displaying their alter egos.

Hannah Davis, Chrissy Teigen and Nina Agdal had mediocre–perhaps even subpar–lives before DirecTV.

Davis was a frumpy cat lady, but when she got DirecTV, she “retired to the beach, lightened her hair, ditched her glasses, and donned a bikini” that hardly covers much.

Teigen was a haggard housewife, but when she got DirecTV, she didn’t have to wear a shirt and posed provacatively on the beach.

Agdal was a plain lunchlady, but when she got DirecTV, she also ended up on the beach–weird–with “flowing hair” and an “over glossed-up body.”

Let’s be real.

Sex sells. We all know it. But from a realistic standpoint, there is no correlation between having DirecTV and a life of luxury, living on the beach, and having a hot bod.

While the ad’s logic disappoints me alone, its portrayal of women’s beauty devastates me on an entirely different level.

Ads like these make me hate my body.

They tell me that I am not good enough. They tell me that I don’t look that good in a bikini, and I never will.

They tell me that I am ugly and fat and unattractive.

Perhaps I shouldn’t blame the ads, and instead point to my innate sin that causes me to envy and covet and long for things of this world.

However, these ads don’t help.

I am sure beautiful cat ladies exist. As a potential future puppy lady, I’d like to hope so.

I am positive stunning housewives are real. I know them, and not only are they gorgeous, but also servant-hearted, compassionate, and hardworking.

I am confident gorgeous lunchladies are out there. They probably have more patience and receive much less recognition than the average human being.

You don’t need DirecTV to be beautiful.

You don’t need to binge and purge, or gain weight, or get surgery to be beautiful.

We need to embrace how our Creator made us. We need to adore all of ourselves. Only then will we fully understand and admire the absolute beauty we possess.

Leave a Reply

