Life Written. · My Adoption · Popular Posts. · Red Bus.

My Childhood: Brought to you by Adoption

World Adoption Day was Nov. 9.

I know I’m late, but I’d like to share a bit of my adoption story.

Whenever I tell people I’m adopted, they ask me what my childhood was like. Let me tell you.

I grew up in a home with loving parents and annoying, yet entertaining, brothers.

Dad is a technology nerd. Mom is an ESL elementary teacher. They were both born and raised in Texas.

Braden, three years older than me, is a rough-and-tumble former jock. Half of my childhood involved him beating me up and getting tricked into doing him favors.

Nathan, three years younger than me, is a free-spirited closet genius. The other half of my childhood involved beating him up and tricking him into doing me favors.

The Schramm fam minus Nathan. He was still on his way.
The Schramm fam minus Nathan. He was still on his way.

Growing up,…

Dad and I read through the Wizard of Oz books. We had an old victrola we danced to while listening to Fred Astaire’s, “Dancing cheek to cheek.” I danced on his feet. He taught me how to properly throw punches so Braden didn’t always get off so easy.

Mom and I baked brownies and “cooked” Ramen Noodles. Some Saturdays, we’d go to the nearby Collin Creek Mall and eat Sbarro pizza slices that were the size of my face.

“We girls gotta stick together,” she’d always say with her East Texas accent.

Braden played basketball with his friends. On good days, he’d let me play too. Most days, I’d just watch and annoy him. One time I swished a three pointer at my Wilson Middle School basketball game.

“That’s my sister!” He yelled. I liked that.

Nathan and I played school. I was always the teacher, he was the student. Sometimes we switched things up, and we played doctor. I was always the doctor, he was the patient. Funny how that worked out.

My childhood probably sounds familiar.

It’s the same as everyone else’s.

Well not everyone’s. Not orphans who stay orphans, or children with abusive parents. The Lord blessed me with a family of my own, parents to look up to, and brothers to look after.

The Lord adopted me as His own child, just as my parents have adopted me as their own. Mom and Dad don’t look at me and see someone else’s daughter.

They see a witness.

I am a flesh and blood testament of their love for one another and determination to have a family. I am an extension of their devotion to our Heavenly Father, living proof they took God’s calling to look after orphans literally {see James 1:27}.

They see themselves.

I organize to the nth degree and hum when I getting into the zone, like Mom. I make corny puns and get lost when playing music, like Dad.

They see their daughter.

They see me, Alexia Maelyn Schramm.

They see the real-life China doll, who fell asleep on her father’s tummy the first night she was theirs.

They see the tomboy, who refused to wear pink, and cried when the boys wouldn’t let her join in on a football game.

They see the high school newspaper editor, who stayed after school to write editorials and design layouts.

They see the aspiring journalist fresh out of high school, who rode the DART train alone for the first time to her very first internship with The Dallas Morning News.

They see the public relations major, who finally bawled from missing home for the first time in October of her freshman year at Baylor.

My story is a lot like your story.

But that is only because The Lord sent me from a sub par orphanage in Fuzhou, China, to an extraordinary family in Richardson, Texas.

Praise The Lord for Mom and Dad, Tim and Denise Schramm. Praise The Lord for adoption. May He continue to bless orphans with families, and bless families with orphans, around the world.

4 thoughts on “My Childhood: Brought to you by Adoption

  1. Reblogged this on PaigeHileyPR and commented:
    I recently wrote a piece about China’s One Child Policy and whether the policy was thought with ‘ethics’ in mind. Through the wonder of Twitter I came across this article and it opened my eyes up even more.

  2. This is a lovely story and I’m so pleased for Maelyn that she was adopted, but I think there are more children left in orphanages than are lucky enough to find new homes. It would be a perfect world if no children were in orphanages but unfortunately that world doesn’t exist.

Leave a Reply

