College Life · Life Written. · Sic'Em Forever.

When Faith Meets Football pt. 2: The Game of Life

Sic'Em forever.
Sic’Em forever.

This weekend, I cheered on our Baylor Bears for a win against TCU in the last 4 seconds of the game.

The score: 61-58.

Down 21 points in the last 11 minutes, we were pretty afraid we’d be walking home with a loss.

But we didn’t.

The boys were resilient. They fought for a win. And they got it.

Saturday night was one of the best nights of my college experience.

It was all about faith: staying the whole game, despite the unpromising score, jumping and screaming to affirm our players, leaping onto the field and hugging every friendly face, Sic’Em-ing until our throats were sore.

Sometimes my life looks a lot like Saturday’s game.

I’m trailing behind. I’m confused, I’m lost. I thought I would be winning by now. I thought I’d be more successful or smarter. I’d be prouder of where I am at in life.

But I’m dissatisfied. I’m doubtful, I’m scared. I don’t want to disappoint those rooting for me: my friends, parents, neighbors and peers, myself. I don’t want to admit defeat.

Yet at just the right time, in my desperate need, I find God. And in Him, I find faith. I find hope. I find strength.

I shake off all of the insecurity and fear. I refuse to listen to Satan’s lies, telling me I can’t do it, I’m a lost cause and I should just give up.

I feed my faith and cast out of my fear. I remember who I am. I remember whose I am.

I fight back.

And even if I don’t win,  if the outcomes don’t meet my expectations, I can be proud of persevering and keeping my faith.

I can boast for sticking with God the whole four quarters of my life, even when some of the plays weren’t as effective originally planned. I can wear a goofy grin on my face because I’m a part of His team, a beautifully battered and bruised bunch.

I can celebrate the wins by embracing my friends and shrieking with delight. I can trust that the losses are losses for a reason, whether they’re for learning or growing, or whatever the case may be.

But in the end, I  have already won. One day, I will experience the fullness of the presence of The Lord, seeing Him face-to-face.

Leave a Reply

