Modern Day Martha: On Busyness & Meditation

I’m only taking 12 hours this semester. It’s really a beautiful thing.

But I have a marketing & communications internship, and I’ve also  joined a couple of organizations and started volunteering more, on top of of Tri Delt and church involvement.

Whoa, Maelyn. Take it easy.

I’ve noticed a pattern within my life and our culture — the college culture and American culture as a whole.

We are busy people. And we love it.

When one friend says, “Well I have to make it to this luncheon and meet with my professor.” Another one-ups them, “Oh I’m going to the same luncheon, meeting with my professor, and volunteering at the animal shelther this afternoon.”

Since when did being busy become a good thing?

I’ve become the Martha of all Martha’s. I am constantly flitting from meeting to lecture to class to my internship to church to home to meeting.

It’s exhausting.

But on the rare occasion that I am home with nothing to do, I putter around Pride Rock {our apartment} and start cleaning, organizing, giving myself more things to do.

Martha did the same. In many times in the Bible, she can be seen working, preparing her home for others, keeping herself busy.

But in Luke 10, when she complains to Jesus that her sister Mary is not helping her with her tasks, Jesus says:

“My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details! There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.”

Sometimes I am so busy worrying about the next thing or the next-to-next thing that I overlook the people in front of me, the situations around me.

Sometimes I am so careful to be so involved in the Baylor, Waco and church community that I forget the most crucial relationship is the one I have with The Lord.

Sometimes I’m Martha, I completely miss what and who should be my main concern: Jesus Christ.

Within the past few years, I’ve forgotten how to sit still. So this is my new prayer:

May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer. Psalm 19:14, NLT

I’m learning how to still my mind, heart and body before God. It has been one of the biggest struggles. I want to go, go, go.

But God says, “Be still and know that I am God.” So be still I shall.

Categories: College Life, Everything Else, Life Written., UncategorizedTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

