College Life · Life Written.

Faith Over Fear: On Benching Myself in Life

https://i0.wp.com/images5.fanpop.com/image/photos/24600000/Hilary-in-A-Cinderella-Story-hilary-duff-24615308-500-307.gif

I’m a very competitive person. I will own up to the fact that I like winning a wee bit too much.

Unfortunately, I’m not a very athletic person.

This is a constant struggle. During intramurals or even recreational games among friends, I tend to bench myself. I deem myself unworthy compared to my opponents and teammates. I foresee myself messing up big time, causing my team to lose.

So  I take one for the team by letting others play in my place {whether the stats prove they are better or not}.

I’ve recently noticed I don’t just bench myself during intramurals or gamenights with friends. I bench myself in life.

Sometimes it’s academics. Other times, it’s a club or a job position.

There is an opportunity. I am interested, I’m excited. But then I fear. What if I’m not smart enough for that course? What if I won’t fit in with that group? What if I am too young to work there?

And then I bench myself. I wait for someone smarter, friendlier, older, or better to contribute to the spot I fear I cannot fill. The moment passes and I sulk. There’s another aspiration not crossed off the list.

Well I’ve decided that’s lame.

And Sam’s dad from A Cinderella Story had it right:

Never let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game.

Because when let our fear rule us, we are blinded and crippled. We miss out. We let opportunities come and go like mist.

If we don’t ever play, we will never win. If we bench ourselves, we lose by default. And if we play and still lose, messing up just as we feared, we learn, we take note, and we move on.

We become resilient.

And I definitely want to be that.

When I’m a cute little grey-haired lady, I don’t want to whine about the things I didn’t do. I want to be remembered by the things I did.

I want to boast about the time Opportunity X came knocking & how I  just went for it, even though I was {insert alleged weakness here}. I want to brag on God for pulling me through Opportunity X, for strengthening my trust because at times I just didn’t think I would succeed.

And friends, we won’t always succeed. But that is what faith is for.

When our faith overrides our fear, we don’t care about the end results. Even if the path is narrow and rocky and thorny and difficult, our faith assures us that the outcomes will always be God glorifying.

And that’s the big win. The real win.

Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. Ephesians 3:20, NLT

Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see. Hebrews 11:1, NLT

Leave a Reply

