Like a Child

2014-05-25 23.12.05

Sometimes I don’t feel like a good enough Christian.

Am I spending enough time in the Word? Are my prayers long enough? Should I be tithing or serving more?

While I bask in God’s free gift of grace, I critique my every move. I see Christians who seem to have their faith all together, whose prayers are long and moving, who serve regularly and tithe more than 10%.

Last night, I found a book in my grandfather’s study, More Children’s Letters to God. Like it sounds, the pages are filled with messages to God from little kids.

Karen said, “Our teacher told us to write to our favorite person so I am writing to you even though you can’t write back I think and you are not a person. But I wanted to write anyway.”

These letters are short and sweet. They are simple, yet genuine.

There is beauty in having a faith like a child’s.

Children sing songs like, “Jesus loves me, this I know, for the Bible tells me so. Little ones to Him belong, they are weak when He is strong.”

When praying, they aren’t concerned with word choice or length. When it comes to theology, they are told God is big, they learn He made the earth, they are taught He is everywhere, they hear He is only good. And they know that God loves them.

They know what they know, they don’t question if their knowledge is inadequate.

They love God because God loves them. To most kids, that is all there is to it.

While God is deep and complex, and our faith is deep and complex, I think we can become overwhelmed with the intricacies of our beliefs. By doing so, we forget the beautiful simplicity, the divine romance that lies at the core of Christianity.

God loves us. God wants us as we are. God wants us to love Him, and to love Him with whatever we’ve got to give — whatever that may be.

We don’t need to come up with fancy words to create a fancy 15 minute prayer. We don’t need fancy Sunday dresses or fancy Jesus fish stickers on our cars.

We don’t need a fancy faith. We just need God.

Jesus called the children to him and said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”

Luke 18:16-17 (NIV)

 

Categories: Everything Else, Life Written.Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

