15 Things Less Satisfying Than God

Come Thou Fount is my favorite hymn, and probably song, of all time. My favorite words are:

Prone to wander, Lord I feel it

Prone to leave the God I love

Lately, I have been aware of how much I seek after worldly things in order to find fulfillment and wholeness. I covet. I pine. I obtain. But whenever I get it, whatever it is, I am not completely satisfied. I am disappointed. I am empty. And I am reminded of these truths:

Only God can satisfy.

Only God can make me feel the true joy I desire.

Only God can overflow my cup.

The following list are things I have desired in order to make me happy/fulfilled/satisfied. The following are things that have let me down.

Here it is.

15 things less satisfying than God:

  1. Facebook likes on my new profile picture
  2. Mint chocolate chip ice cream on a hot summer’s day
  3. A boyfriend
  4. To go to a Ben Rector concert
  5. Straight A’s
  6. To have security in my major
  7. An internship
  8. A Torchy’s taco {Trailer Park, to be exact}
  9. To win an intramural game
  10. Compliments on my outfit
  11. To nap for 3 hours straight
  12. Friends laughing at my joke
  13. To make money
  14. An officer position in my sorority
  15. To swing while the sun sets

These things are not inherently bad. It is great to bask in the beauty of God’s creation {#15}, or to be goofy with the people you love {#12}. Making good grades {#5} or money {#13} requires dedication and determination, wonderful characteristics to have.

But man, I really mess myself up when I think these things will bring me life. Or rather, when I make my life about these things.

While a nap may make me more energized {#11}, it will only keep me going for the rest of the day.

While my officer position lets me share scripture to my sorority sisters {#14}, I will only be chapter correspondent for six more months, and then my job is done.

These things can be good. But it is not good to let such things motivate me. It is not good for me to crave the things of this world, the things that will only leave me wanting more.

Why chase these things? Why wander? There is no need to when these truths remain to be true:

Only God can satisfy.

Only God can make me feel the true joy I desire.

Only God can overflow my cup.

Let them give thanks to the Lord for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for mankind, for he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things. Psalm 107:8-920140525_203335

Categories: Everything Else, Life Written.Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

4 Comments

  1. So true! God has placed eternity in our hearts,(Ecclesiastes 3:11) which cannot be satisfied by anything except Him. He is the only eternal being that can fill what Blaise Pascal called “the God-shaped vacuum” in every human. When we have God, we have exceeding joy!!

Leave a Reply

