College Life

Chosen.

TriDeltAlmost two months ago, my sorority underwent a process called “slating.” Members nominate each other for different officer positions for the upcoming calendar year.

At our Hunger Games themed slate reveal {awesome, right?}, my name popped up in bold letters on the slideshow with the new officers.

CHAPTER CORRESPONDENT: MAELYN SCHRAMM

What.

I was so dumbfounded, the seconds following were a blur. I do remember my friends screaming, “Congratulations!,” some of them hugging me or lightly punching my arm.

It was very unexpected. I was caught off guard.

In my head, I questioned 1) what exactly does chapter correspondent do? 2) aren’t there other girls better equipped for this job?

The next few weeks, I learned more about what my new position entailed. I am in charge of sending the Delta Times, weekly emails about events, meetings, and miscellaneous information officers need to tell current members about. I communicate with other organizations on campus and the Trident, Tri Delta’s national publication.

While going through training, I realized what an honor it was to be chosen for this position. My sorority sisters saw potential in me, believed that I was responsible and reliable enough for the job. Despite doubting myself, they had faith in me.

Yesterday, I spent hours trying to design a background for the Delta Times. It was a frustrating process, lots of grunting at lines that wouldn’t stay straight, colors that didn’t look right. I again questioned why I was chosen. But at the end of the day, I finished creating a template and was satisfied with the end product.

I was reminded that it doesn’t matter why I was chosen, it simply matters that I was chosen.

Even when I thought I was insufficient and unequipped, my friends recognized I was trustworthy, dependable, and fit for the job. In the same way I questioned my selection, I question my appointment by God. Why me? You want me to do what? Couldn’t you send someone else, maybe someone who’s better at Photoshop?

But I am chosen. I may doubt myself, but The Lord has faith in me. He sees potential in me. And in areas where I lack, He makes me stronger. He humbles me, making me realize I desperately need Him. He surprises me, providing opportunities like internships and officer positions that help me grow in faith and in trust.

Chapter correspondent is the coolest position because I have the opportunity to regularly interact with my sorority sisters and other students involved on campus. I am given the chance to be a source of encouragement, even if it’s just through a few simple words in an email.

I am excited. I am looking forward to writing, editing, and sending my first Delta Times. I am eager to write the other organizations to remind them they’re loved. I will do my very best as chapter correspondent, to steadfastly love my dear Deltas, to be a light to everyone I interact with.

However, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous. I’m still afraid I’ll mess up, and honestly, I probably will a time or two. But it is when I make those inevitable mistakes that I am humbled. If I send out the DT a little too late, or get an address wrong, I can remember that I was chosen.  If I chicken out on inviting a friend to church, or miss out on a quiet time, I can remember that I was chosen. Despite myself, I am chosen.

You didn’t choose me. I chose you. I appointed you to go and produce lasting fruit, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using my name. John 15:16 {NLT}

Leave a Reply

