For the Ladies

Why I’m NOT a Model

Here are the Top 5 reasons:

This is where my modeling days started and stopped, with a Joe Jonas poster. It's not embarrassing.
This is where my modeling days started and stopped, with a Joe Jonas poster. It’s not embarrassing.

1) Chocolate

2) Pizza

3) Tacos

4) Bread

5) Chocolate

On the night of the big Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show, I am reminded of many reasons why I’m not a model. And while the above reasons are humorously valid, there are also reasons like:

6) The Lord did not build me that way.

7) I do not want to force my body into being shaped that way {or even close to it}, because that would involve an unhealthy lifestyle.

I’m never going to be 5’9″ with measurements like 34’24’34’. I’m never going to strut down a runway before millions of viewers. And that’s okay.

I can strut down the hallways of my school with sass. I can modestly cover myself. I can look in the mirror and like what I see: the mole on my right ear, the scar on my left cheek, my thighs that touch, my tummy pooch. I can be healthy and  happy.

I can be joyful in knowing that The King is enthralled by my beauty {Psalm 45:11}. The One who made the stars I love, the mountains that take my breath away, the oceans that soothe my soul, the sunsets that melt away my anxieties, That Guy is enthralled by my beauty.

I don’t need to be a model to feel like one. I don’t need to be a model to impress The Lord. And neither do you.

Remember you’re beautiful.

Leave a Reply

