Stuffed.

turkeyToday, I feel absolutely stuffed. In multiple ways.

First, I am physically stuffed. I strategically wore a flowy denim shirt to hide my inevitable food baby. It worked. As far as I can tell, all of the turkey, green bean casserole, twice baked potatoes, rolls, baked macaroni & cheese, puppy chow, etc. could not be seen. But man, I sure did feel it. I’ve never been pregnant, nor do I plan to be any time soon, but I felt the weight of a small child within my stomach today. So that was weird.

To accompany my physical stuffing, I am spiritually stuffed. My heart is happy, I see The Lord’s blessings in my life.

I am stuffed from incredible friends who are patient with me, who lend me their ears for listening, arms for embracing, hearts for caring.

I am stuffed from a family who makes me laugh when we play Catchphrase, who understand the answer is President Bush when I hint, “not President Tree” {clever, huh?}.

I am stuffed from big things, like a great college education {sic ’em}, and small things, like fuzzy socks {oh yes}, stuffed from adventures, like my summer internship, and the mundane, like walking to class.

I’m learning that my life doesn’t have to be perfect in order for me to be spiritually stuffed. In fact, my life is nowhere near perfect right now.

Yet I am stuffed with joy in knowing The Lord, in trusting in His goodness even when my heart is breaking. I am stuffed with hope in knowing there are mountaintop views to come while I’m walking through the valleys. I am stuffed through my faith in God above.

Today, I feel absolutely stuffed. In multiple ways. I have a full stomach and a full heart. The Lord is wholly good and The Lord makes me whole.

Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you to belong to Christ Jesus. 1 Thessalonians 5:18

Categories: Everything ElseTags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

