College Life

Making life good

cookiesCollege is straight up crazy.

This weekend, my {bigger} little brother Nathan asked me, “What do you do when you get bored?”

I thought long and hard, and replied, “I don’t have time to be bored anymore.”

And while it sounds a bit dramatic, it’s completely true. There is literally not enough time in the day to be bored — I’m constantly in the library, in class, in a meeting, at an event, at Bible Study, etc.

Sometimes I forget that college is actually fun. A never ending to-do list haunts me wherever I go. It consumes my life. While I check one thing off of the list, I’m already thinking about or starting to check off another.

I forget that it is healthy to be still, to do things I love, to just be.

Lately, I’ve realized that my newest happy place is my bed. When I’m done getting ready in the mornings, I sit and pray. And when I’m done praying, I keep sitting. And just sit. I mentally prepare myself for the day by not thinking of the tasks ahead of me. Instead, I remind myself of the strength and endurance The Lord supplies me with.

I’ve started to make time to do things I love. I love people, I love talking to them one on one, hearing their stories. I love doing life with them. I try to make more time for the people in my life, even if it’s just a quick coffee date. I love baking, I love how methodical it is. A + B = C. C tastes good. I love the concentration it takes, the peace it brings me. I love blogging. I love being able to tell my story, or rather, The Lord’s story He lets me be apart of. I love the writing process and the self discovery it involves.

I have become more and more aware of how much I need to just be. I need to do nothing. I need to clear my mind. I need to slow down. Because when I don’t slow down, when I don’t make time for things/people I love, when I am not still before The Lord, I am not myself. I am not joyful, or even content. I am overwhelmed, exhausted, grumpy, anxious.

In some ways, you get out of life what you put into it. If you’re obsessive over everyday tasks, you quickly become weary and discontent. Life starts to look like a chore, another thing to do on the list. But when you make time for The Lord, for others, and for yourself, you are restored and lighthearted. Life is a blessing and an opportunity.

Tonight, I ate Chick Fil A with my incredible friend Caitlin, there was lots of laughing and sweet tea involved. I made no-bake cookies with my stellar roommate Faith, I literally tripped from excitement on the way to the refrigerator. I am blogging {duh} with John Mayer’s sweet voice as background music. Even though I am staying up later, I am not overwhelmed or exhausted, grumpy or anxious. My heart is happy. My stomach is full. And life is good.

Leave a Reply

