Gotcha.

photo.PNG

Today is my very own Gotcha Day.

18 years ago today, I became apart of the Schramm fam.

I moved from China to Texas, from an orphanage to a home. I switched from having nannies to having parents, from playing with peers to playing with a brother {later joined by the little one}.

My adoption reminds me that God is sovereign.

He holds everything together {Colossians 1:17}. He literally holds my life together. He is the One who sent me from Fuzhou to Dallas. He is the One who chose my family to be my family, my home to be my home. He is in control of every single thing, big or small.

My adoption reminds me that God is good.

Every good and perfect gift is from the Father of heavenly lights {James 1:17}. Even when life is hard, when school is the worst and my laptop breaks {aka today}, I know that He is good because I can see how good He’s been to me. He is always faithful, He never fails to keep His promises.

My adoption with my family reminds me of my adoption with God.

The Spirit testifies that we are God’s children. If we are children, then we are heirs – heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory {Romans 8:16-17}.

I am not only the daughter of my parents, but also a daughter of The King. My parents pour out their unconditional love on me, they have intimate relationships with me, they care for me deeply.  I have all of the perks of being their daughter: vacations, meals, presents, allowance, etc. The Lord pours out His unconditional love on me, He has an intimate relationship with me, He cares for me deeply. I have all of the perks of being His daughter: joy in His sovereignty, hope in His plan, peace in His presence, not to mention eternal life.

My earthly adoption parallels my spiritual adoption. The love my parents have for me reflects the love The Lord has for me. On my Gotcha Day, I am thankful for a great set of parents who unconditionally love me. But it is also a day I am more aware of  a good, sovereign God who is always taking care of me, wants what is best for me, and loves me endlessly.

Categories: My Adoption, Red Bus.Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

