Like Heaven

Today reminded me a lot like Heaven.

My Italian class was cancelled, so I slept in until 11. It was glorious.

2 Corinthians 5:2 says, “We grow weary in our present bodies, and we long to put on our heavenly bodies like new clothing.”

While I did not wake up with a literal new body, I awoke rejuvenated, well rested, and physically at ease. When I’m in Heaven, my weak knees that predict the rain will be no more. I will be clothed in an entirely new, heavenly, body.

As I left my apartment, I took in the beautiful sunny with a high of 75 weather. I basked in the sweet sunlight, felt the slight breeze through my hair.

Revelation 21:2 says, “I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven like a bride beautifully dressed for her husband.”

Heaven will be beautiful, even more beautiful than today’s weather. It will shine “with the glory of God” (v. 11).

On my way to class, I ran into friends that I rarely see because of our busy lives. We did the cliche girly hug-and-squeal because we hadn’t seen each other in weeks. They were sweet, brief reunions.

1 Thessalonians 4:13-14 says, “We want you to know what will happen to the believers who have died so you will not grieve like people who have no hope. For since we believe that Jesus died and was raised to life again, we also believe that when Jesus returns, God will bring back with him the believers who have died.”

While this passage is talking about Christ’s second coming, we will be reunited with our loved ones in Heaven if they are believers. It will be much more than a hug-and-squeal, split, sprint-to-class reunion. It won’t be brief, but eternal.

Later tonight, I had the privilege of worshipping The Lord alongside other Highland Baptist college students and homeless Wacoans.

Revelation 7:9-10 says, “I saw a vast crowd, too great to count, from every nation and tribe and people and language, standing in front of the throne and before the Lamb. They were clothed in white robes and held palm branches in their hands. They were shouting with a great roar, ‘Salvation comes from our God who sits on the throne and from the Lamb!'”

In Heaven, believers from different cities, states, countries will gather. Believers from different backgrounds, of different races, with different stories, will praise The One and Only God.

It will be beautiful, it will be eternal, it will be glorious. Today was one of the best days I’ve had in a long, long time. It was a heavenly day, but it wasn’t nearly as good as the real deal will be. It cannot even compare.

This photo is from last year when I visited Church Under the Bridge, a church that proves the people make the church, not the building.
This photo is from last year when I visited Church Under the Bridge, showing the body of the believers are the real church, not the building. While many homeless attend CUTB, Baylor students, & middle class families also attend. All believers have Christ in common. All can praise His name as one.

Categories: Everything ElseTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

