On Patience

Lately, I’ve become more and more aware of how impatient I am.

In every way.

When I’m in the line for Whataburger at 11 p.m., when the pedestrians crossing the street seem to have all day, when my brother is laying on the stairs, when my mom doesn’t understand me on the phone, when my art teacher drones on about ACL, etc.

I’ve come to realize that I am an easily annoyed, quickly angered, impatient fool. I find myself biting my tongue to keep me from blurting out something hurtful, short, rude. Or I find myself blurting out something hurtful, short, rude, followed by immediate regret. I’ll roll my eyes or cross my arms. I’ll give that look showing how displeased I am.

But I’m also becoming more and more aware of how patient God is with me.

I mess up, get down on my knees, arise forgiven, and try again. I mess up, get down on my knees, arise forgiven, and try again. I mess up, get down on my knees, arise forgiven, and try again. And repeat. And repeat. And repeat.

Even though I sin on a day-to-day basis, The Lord is never impatient with me. The Lord forgives me, restores me, and gives me another chance. He doesn’t scold me, roll His eyes, cross His arms, give me that look of disapproval. He speaks love, opens His eyes, extends His arms, gives me a look of acceptance.

And if The Lord of this world can be patient with me, the greatest of sinners, then surely I can be patient with others.

Understand this, my dear brothers and sisters: You must all be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry. Human anger does not produce the righteousness God desires. James 1:19-20

Categories: Everything ElseTags: , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

