College Life

These are the days.

This morning, I woke up to my lower right eye twitching. What an excellent way to start the day.*

Over twelve hours later, as I’m about to crash, my eye is still twitching.

According to Web MD, my best friend and worst enemy, “most people develop a minor eye twitch at some point in their lives.” The causes include fatigue, stress, and caffeine.

This makes sense.

The past two weeks I have been nothing but stressed, anxious, exhausted, weary, and hyped up on iced coffee {my go to source for that extra boost when my schedule doesn’t allow naps/sleeping in}.

Test after test. Meeting after meeting. Event after event. Running from here, to there, to everywhere, I find myself struggling to get going in the morning because I know the demands of the day will wear me out.

Sometimes, I wonder why people look back and call college the best years of their lives. I love the friends I’ve made, the activities I’m involved in, the classes that I’m taking {except for art appreciation}. But man, sometimes college life is just a beating.

Then I remember, these are the days. Sure, I’m busy and worn out. Sure, I smell bad because I had to skip a shower to get to class on time. Sure, I legitimately look insane because my right eye won’t stop spazzing out.

But these are the days I am givenThese are the days that God decides to breathe new life into me. These are the days that I will find joy, hope, and peace in Him, no matter how stressed I am, no matter how physically weak I feel, no matter how much caffeine I need.

This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

*This post was first published on Sept. 14, 2013 on a previous blog of mine.

Leave a Reply

