The Body Image Thing

So many girls out there are insecure with the way they look. I don’t know if I could name one girl who would legitimately say if she had the option, she wouldn’t change a thing about herself – myself included.

It breaks my heart to hear about girls who refuse to eat, binge and purge, or become obsessed with exercising. Instead of embracing the natural beauty given to them by God, they alter their appearances themselves.

My friends and I joke about having “fat girl probs,” but we all have inner very real insecurities when it comes to our appearances.
Ladies, Genesis 1:27 says that you were made “in God’s image.” Psalm 45:11 says, “The King is enthralled by your beauty.” Psalm 139:14 says you were “fearfully and wonderfully made.
The Lord of this Universe is head over heels for you. He made you to look like Him. He knew exactly what He was doing when He sculpted your body, when He chose your weight, when He colored your hair, when He determined your height, when He composed your voice, when He made you
You are not a mistake, aspects of your body are not mistakes. Every curve, every freckle, every blemish is beautiful and exquisite to you and you alone.

Please remember you are beautiful. God made you that way.

Categories: For the LadiesTags: , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

1 Comment

  1. Love this.
    I wrote a blog post on Psalm 139 called “Complexities”. Verse 14 says, “Thank You for making me so wonderfully complex!” I want us all to be thankful for our bodies’ “complexities” that we often see as flaws! God made us complex and HE loves those complexities!

    Thanks for sharing! I’m with you in the effort to promote good body image and self-esteem!

Leave a Reply

