Identity Theft

game

Nineteen years ago, I was born in Shaowu, a Fuijan province, in China. I’m Chinese.

Eighteen years ago, I was adopted into a Caucasian family. I grew up in Richardson, Texas, your plain old suburb that isn’t particularly exciting or special. I’m American. I’m Texan.

Almost one year ago, I was initiated into Delta Delta Delta, a Panhellenic sorority. I’m a Tri Delt.

For my entire life, I’ve struggled with my identity.

From the outside, I am Asian. I have thick, long black hair. I have tan skin. I have almond shaped eyes. From the inside, I am all American. The Fourth of July is one of my favorite holidays. I enjoy a good barbecue. I can slice and dice like nobody’s business. And I have Texas pride running through my veins. Secede!

Since I’ve joined a sorority, not only am I “Maelyn the Asian” or “Maelyn the girl from Richardson,” but I’m also “Maelyn the Tri Delt.” I’m associated with a group of girls on campus that are known as “homemakers” that care about their grades {we have the highest GPA on campus, what up} and love Jesus {which is great, because I do}.

Granted, I am glad to be a Delta, and I stand for everything we’re known for at Baylor. Granted, I am proud to be a Texan/American because I grew up here and it’s a wonderful state/country. Granted, I am grateful for my humble beginnings because my start makes me value what I have now and where I live today.

But sometimes I am a victim of identity theft. I let my birth place, my hometown, my sorority identify who I am, when my true identity resides in my savior Jesus Christ.

I was a sinner and continue to be one. I make mistakes every single day. But Jesus Christ came to earth to save me from my sin in order to let me be in relationship with the Lord. In His death and resurrection I was made completely new.

It doesn’t matter where I was born, where I am from, or what letters I wear on my oversized t-shirts. My identity rests in Him alone. I am Maelyn, the daughter of the One and Only King.

So you have not received a spirit that makes you fearful slaves. Instead, you received God’s Spirit when he adopted you as his own children. Now we call him, “Abba, Father.” For his Spirit joins with our spirit to affirm that we are God’s children.  And since we are his children, we are his heirs. In fact, together with Christ we are heirs of God’s glory. But if we are to share his glory, we must also share his suffering.
Romans 8:15-17

Categories: College Life, Everything Else, My Adoption, Popular Posts.Tags: , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

1 Comment

  1. “Self-understanding is the necessary condition for developing a true sense of self–identity. Striving for well-being and making sense of one’s life is at the core of human nature. Knowing one’s true identity has far-reaching implications for behavior, motivation, and relationships. Life goals develop and are influenced by our perceptions of what is feasible based on our uniqueness, individuality, character, temperament, talents and self-identity. Conceptions of self affect how one’s progress towards future goals are evaluated, monitored, and pursued. Awareness and knowledge are the basis of self-understanding. The closer one is to their ideal self, the happier they will be.” —Judith Land, adoptee & author of Adoption Detective
    http://judithland.wordpress.com/2013/03/22/self-identity-making-sense-of-ones-life-judith-land-adoption-detective/

Leave a Reply

