Forever & Always

999548_10201166079209140_1566813183_nI’ve been running to and fro between Dallas, Waco and Spring in the past few months. There’s been a lot of packing and unpacking, moving this to there, that to here, and what not.

It’s been hectic and crazy, but it’s also been exciting and fun.

The hardest part about moving from one place to another is saying goodbye to good friends & people that you’ve met along the way. Missing people is the absolute worst. But if you think about it, the root of why we miss people is a great thing.

We miss people because their friendship blessed us. We miss them because they made us laugh, they comforted us when we cried, they stooped to our level of weirdness, they made us better in the end.

Unfortunately, the friends you make now may not be your friends in five years or even in five months. People come and go according to the seasons of our lives.

Who is in my life wavers, depending on where I am and when I’m there. It’s inconsistent, it’s flimsy. The people themselves may be entirely reliable as friends, but they’re still people. They have jobs, they have schools, they have lives. They may be sent away or called elsewhere. As much as I love my friends dearly, I can’t always count on them being there.

The people in my life are not constant, but God is. Jesus Christ says in Matthew 28:20, “Be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

He never moves away, and I can never move away from Him. I don’t have to schedule a Starbucks date with Him if I haven’t seen Him in a few months. I don’t have to Skype Him because He goes to a different college or because I’m gone for the summer. I don’t have to resort to phone calls & texting when He’s out of town.

Nope. I don’t have to do any of that because He is always there. 

Not only is He always there, but He is always the same. The Lord never changes. Hebrews 13:8 says Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.

He is always kind, loving, forgiving, and merciful. He is always just, righteous, and good. He is always God.

So whenever I’m in Dallas missing my Spring friends, or in Waco missing my Dallas friends, whenever I’m anywhere new and unfamiliar, I can always count on God being there with me. I can find peace in His love as I’m led into the unknown. I can be comforted by a forever present, always faithful God.

Categories: College Life, Everything ElseTags: , , , , , , , ,

Maelyn Schramm

Adopted from China, I hail from Dallas and spent a few years studying in Waco at Baylor University. As a recent college graduate, I'm learning how to be an adult by taking risks, living boldly and faithfully following The Lord. I love coffee, puppies and adventures.

Leave a Reply

