College Life

There’s no place like home.

Home is kind of like a noun. It can be a person, place, or thing. You can have one home, or two, or a bunch of homes.Right now, I have two homes: Dallas and Waco.

When I think of Dallas, I think home. A million different memories flood into my mind that make up my childhood: going on bike rides in the park nearby, lemonade stands on the side of the road, and many bruises, scrapes, stitches from various harmful {but super fun} activities. I think about singing Jingle Bell Hop in our elementary school choir, and walking across the stage {without tripping, might I add} at my high school graduation. Dallas is home.

And this year, I found a new home in Waco. A thousand different memories flood into my mind from my first year on my own: tossing tortillas off of the suspension bridge, spitting ice like a 5-year-old boy in the dining halls, and kayaking down the Brazos. I think about meeting new faces and friends during my first nine months at Baylor, and experiencing all of the different emotions and challenges that independence brings. Waco is home, too.

Dictionary.com says that home {n.} is a “house, apartment, or other shelter that is the usual residence of a person, family, or household.” And that’s true. But home is more.

Home is where you’re comfortable.Home is where you can kick off your shoes,look super nappy, and where you can burp loudly without being judged. It’s where you can do a full on ugly cry and curl up into a ball, but someone will find you and just cradle you in their arms until you’re all out of tears. 

It’s a person/place/thing that you’ll miss if you’re gone too long, a person/place/thing that makes you start choking up when you just think about it because you just love it that much.Home is where the heart is. And there’s just no place like home.

Leave a Reply

